Brotherhood and Community are Worth the Effort

I had a super busy weekend, and I hope that your weekend was a good one. If not, please consider leaving a prayer request.

I was reminded on two occasions over the weekend just how blessed I am to have friends. Most of my closest friends belong to the Knights of Columbus. As Knights we have four guiding principles Charity, Unity, Fraternity, and Patriotism. Everything I could hope for in a good friend I have in a brother Knight. Sunday reminded me of that.

Folks, community is more than just where you live. It is who you engage on a daily basis. We need each other so much, but sometimes it takes a struggle or a holy 2×4 to wake us to that reality. What makes community hard is the effort and attention it requires. Yet in the investment we make in someone else and their good, we find peace and joy that a self-centered culture just cannot understand.

It takes a certain vulnerability and honesty to admit we are lacking and in need of help, but the fact is we all need help to become all we are meant to be. I need you and you need me. The man or woman who denies this is a fool in need of much prayer and support.

I am not trying to put anyone down here. All I am saying is that community is worth the time, effort, prayer, struggle, humility, and vulnerability. We are made stronger when we are forged together.

May God grant us the courage to be a friend and to also receive friendship.

.

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on May 4, 2015, in Catholic Community, Catholic Family, Catholic Manliness, Love, Personal Witness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

