Tactical Catholic Podcast Episode 022: The Gambler

I couldnt resist laying out the words of the great Kenny Rogers in my preparation for tonight’s podcast:

On a warm summer’s evenin
 On a train bound for nowhere
 I met up with the gambler
 We were both too tired to sleep
 So we took turns a-starin’
 Out the window at the darkness
 The boredom overtook us, he began to speak

 He said, “Son, I’ve made a life
 Out of readin’ people’s faces
 Knowin’ what the cards were
 By the way they held their eyes
 So if you don’t mind me sayin’
 I can see you’re out of aces
 For a taste of your whiskey
 I’ll give you some advice”

 So I handed him my bottle
 And he drank down my last swallow
 Then he bummed a cigarette
 And asked me for a light
 And the night got deathly quiet
 And his faced lost all expression
 He said, “If you’re gonna play the game, boy
 You gotta learn to play it right

 You’ve got to know when to hold ’em
 Know when to fold ’em
 Know when to walk away
 Know when to run
 You never count your money
 When you’re sittin’ at the table
 There’ll be time enough for countin’
 When the dealin’s done

 Every gambler knows
 That the secret to survivin’
 Is knowin’ what to throw away
 And knowin’ what to keep
 ‘Cause every hand’s a winner
 And every hand’s a loser
 And the best that you can hope for
 Is to die in your sleep”

 And when he finished speakin’
 He turned back toward the window
 Crushed out his cigarette
 And faded off to sleep
 And somewhere in the darkness
 The gambler he broke even
 And in his final words
 I found an ace that I could keep….

You tell em, Kenny. I am excited for.this week’s show. 22 episodes in the bag so we are gonna take a chance and play the ponies.

Join us tonight and talk gambling, sports wagering, march madness, Pete Rose, stocks, gas station sushi, and other gambles. http://www.fiatministrynetwork.tv 

 

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on March 25, 2015, in Catholic Belief, Economics, Entertainment, podcast, Sports, Stewardship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

