The Southern Catholic Convention

I found this great article from June that gives updated statistics on the rise of Converts in TN, particularly the eastern side of the state. You can read it at.

http://m.timesfreepress.com/news/2014/jun/14/catholic-converts-on-the-rise-east-tennessee-among/

You all know that I have appointed myself President of the newly established Southern Catholic Convention. That means I get to wear a sash, top hat, and monocle around town. It also means I have to bring deviled eggs to the annual covered dish fellowship.

As President of the SCC, I am glad to see the Volunteer State rise in conversions to the Catholic Faith. When my wife and I entered the Church in 2002, Tennessee had about 3% of its population claiming to be Catholic. Now it is a whopping 8%. You’re welcome, South!

I know marriage is a big reason many consider the Church, but in the end there has to be more to it than that. What I see during the course of RCIA is that the folks coming go through a formation and conversion much greater than picking another checkbox on a survey. They are being formed in faith as Catholics if the RCIA is worth its salt.

The common reason people consider Catholic Christianity is because they see sonething in the faith life of a Catholic, whether they read it in a blog, see it in a tv show, or see it in person through a spouse, coworker, or friend. Something they see makes them hungry to know more.

So I ask you, my Catholic brethren, what do people notice when they see you? What stands out? Can they see the Sacraments at work? It’s something to consider.

If you’re coming to the Southern Catholic Convention covered dish, please let me know what you are bringing. There is only so much room for green bean casserole.

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on September 29, 2014, in Catholic Convert, Personal Witness, Southern Catholics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

