Catholic Preppers?

I like watching the survival and prepping shows that have been popping up on television in recent years.  I think that with the general lack of preparedness seen with the highly publicized superstorms, wildfires, earthquakes, tornados, and hurricanes, more and more people are at least thinking about taking precautions.  What about you?A recurring theme I see when I watch the news are the vast numbers of people who are either panicking, resorting to criminal behavior, or who merely sit and wait on someone to take care of them.  Look guys, if that’s your plan, get a new plan.

Far too many Americans have grown accustomed to having everything at their fingertips and in an instant.  No one thinks about not having to scrounge for water or food because we can just go to Wal Mart and grab some milk and bread.  If the grid goes down, even for a couple of days, how are you going to keep that milk cold, even if you bought some?  How would you cook your microwave dinner?

A lot of the guys who are on those tv shows are taking things to the extreme, but you know what?  If/when the SHTF (#!$t hits the fan) those folks will have food, water, power, and security.  Laugh if you want, but you’d be better served learning a thing or two.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no prepper – at least in the traditional sense of the word.  I don’t have a bunker or a herd of rabbits or enough stored food to feed a family of 9 for a year.  What I do have is a mind for thrift, the ability to hunt, skills to defend myself and my family and enough backwoods experience to make it if things get rough.  This did not come overnight.  I was fortunate enough to be born into a family where camping, hunting, fishing, scouting, marksmanship, and contact sports played a big role.  So I learned a lot just by being a normal kid.  Now as a man I have learned to improve upon those skills and to find new ways to work with what I have to prepare my family to face potential crises.

Can I make a few more suggestions to you guys?

1.  Don’t panic.

2.  Start now.

3.  Start with what you know and build on it.

 

There are a lot of great videos and podcasts and books that can help you to have general knowledge.  Look, if nothing else, these tools can help make you a little less dependent on someone else to come and fix things for you.  Learn to fix a lawnmower (small engine).  Learn to shoot a bow (or make one).  Learn how to defend yourself.  Teach your kids how to get out of a house fire.  Learn how to start a camp fire without matches.  Learn how to fish.  Go fishing as a family for food and fun.  Learn how to camp and camp with your buddies.  Everything need not be drudgery, but you’ll have some skills that might help in a pinch should things go south for some reason.

Of course, I recommend my buddy, Dale, over at Survivalist Prepper    http://survivalistprepper.net/.  He and his wife have a great website and podcast.  Dale isn’t afraid to share the knowledge or point you in the direction of good advice.

Please spend time here as well.  I will be adding more particular articles as we go along, as well as provide reviews of products and gear that have benefited me and my family.  If you are a manufacturer and would like for us to review, I’m glad to do it.  HOWEVER, I gotta warn you, just because you send us a product for review does not mean I’ll give you a favorable review.  If your product is garbage, I’ll say so.  I’ve been told in the past that my reviews are fair.  Anyway, that’s my two cents about reviews.  I’ll be posting my first review of some product very soon.  Don’t worry.  This time it’s a real good one.  I talked to these folks personally.  But I digress.

Catholic and non-Catholic men, don’t sit on your butt hoping that someone else is going to come save you.  They’re not coming.  Big government will not save you.  It’s your responsibility to take care of yourself and the ones you love.  So do it.

 

 

 

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on September 7, 2014, in Catholic Family, Catholic Husbands, Catholic Manliness, Preparedness, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

