Another Awesome Wrestling Analogy

Guys who know me know that I constantly compare spiritual things to wrestling. I love wrestling. It’s in my blood. It’s in the blood I’ve left on the mat for years. Now, as a coach, I have all sorts of new illustrations I can use to tie wrestling to just about any topic.  So I was thinking this morning about what I was going to write, I knew I had to post about the new site catalog I’m building. Then I said, “We need more wrestling on this site.” This thought came to mind.

I don’t know how many of you wrestled or currently wrestle, but every guy should at least understand the frustration of being caught off guard by an opponent. I suppose it happens in the games guys play (football, baseball, etc.), but it is never more obvious than in the one on one combat of a wrestling match. This almost always happens with rookie wrestlers. They may have all the muscles and confidence in the world, but when a hold is applied that they don’t know, you can see their eyes get big. They don’t know what to do next. Over the next couple of seconds you wince as you see your guy dominated because he didn’t know how to defend or counter the hold. If he’s lucky, he finds a way out and can continue the match, but I can tell you that coach is gonna have a few words with him after the bout.

The only way to avoid the embarrassment of looking like a fool on the mat is to know the basics of offense and defense. The only way so know the basics is to LISTEN TO YOUR COACH and DRILL DRILL DRILL DRILL DRILL the moves until they are automatic. This is also why, fellow coaches, we need to take the time to explain the principles behind the moves we teach. For example, a kid needs to know more than just, “Plant your hip and post your opposite leg to avoid the turn.” He needs to know that we are giving our own bodies a way to avoid getting turned to our back as well as providing a moment for us to build back to our base and mount a counter or escape. That way it doesn’t matter what hold is being applied to us. When we feel our opponents hips or arms in a particular way, our bodies will respond to defend.

This is never more true than in the spiritual warfare we fight on a daily basis. Our opponent, the Devil, knows every trick in the book. He has drilled for thousands of years. You don’t think he knows exactly how to fight you? The ONLY way to score here is to not be caught off guard. It requires hours and hours of drilling (active participation in the Mass, Scripture study, rosaries, a life of prayer, cutting out sinful habits, etc.) and a willingness to submit to Christ our Coach. We have to learn to tune out everything that would distract us and learn to simultaneously do our daily work while keeping our hearts and minds open to Christ. That’s our base, guys. As we train our minds and hearts, we’ll learn to recognize the varied attacks and have the growing experience that will show us how to counter and escape.

It will not work if you think you can just put your head down and wait it out. You’re gonna get turned, man. Keep your head up and fight. FIGHT!

Man, I’m pumped right now. I know I’m in for a fight today, but I’m trusting Christ is with me and that His grace is sufficient to give me what I need. Thank you, Jesus, for the gift of resurrection life received in the Eucharist!

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on May 27, 2014, in Catholic Belief, Catholic Husbands, Catholic Manliness, Personal Witness, Preparedness, Spiritual Warfare and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t love wrestling, but I love a good analogy. Reminds of a good parable.

    Like

    • This analogy is greater when you can show it in a match replay of an experienced grappler and a rookie vs two experienced grapplers. The guys get it. If nothing else, they see the value of all the hard prep work. I believe the spiritual side can be demonstrated too via testimonies of men before and after a bout with the enemy. St Michael the Archangel, defend us.

      Like

Join the Discussion

