Manly Couponing

Part of being a manly Catholic man is being a good steward of your finances, whether it is just you or a family of ten. Be faithful with the money you have, man.

A big part of your budget will be groceries. Food is what can make or break a budget (look at how many times you eat out).

One of the coolest ways to impact your Catholic family budget is to coupon. I’m telling you, if Pope Francis was commenting on this post he would agree with me. Couponing is a great way to save money. It costs time. That’s really it. In fact, I would argue that you can plan two weeks of meals for a family of 8, prep coupons and be ready for the store in under two total hours. Spread out the clipping and sorting and you are only spending a few minutes each day.

Minimum biweekly savings: $100

Total Prep time: 2 hours

I just paid myself $50/hr. I am saving at least $200/mo, so $2400 year. What would you do with an extra $2400? If you combine closeouts, bulk buys (ex. meat) and off brands, you can save even more. In the last 3 months I have been saving closer to 40% on my groceries.

I am not just buying ramen noodles either. I feed a growing Catholic family of 8, and I feed them good food. It costs me time to clip the coupons, gather extras from buddies, and plan my meals. I don’t care. Saving money is my new game.

I want to do a full series on this, but for now let me give a few tips to get you going. Trust me, this becomes second nature fast.

1. Plan your meals ahead. Lay out 2 weeks of meals.

2. Look at your menu. Do any recipe items overlap? This is where you can save (meat, rice, beans, spices, etc).

3. Look at store flyers. Are any of your items on sale?

4. Look at your store loyalty card (if your store has one and you aren’t using it you are wasting money). Download any coupons that match your menu.

5. Look at your coupons. Clip the ones that help your menu. Paperclip them to your shopping list. Remember, you can use more than one (.50/one yogurt? Need 3 yogurts so get 3 coupons.).

6. Check online for coupons. You may find a few more (more on that later). Print and add to list.

7. Star the shopping list items for which you have coupons.

8. Go to store. Check coupon price against any store specials or generics. Get the best deal.

9. Use your loyalty card and coupons. Make sure all coupons are scanned.

10. Laugh when you see your savings. Cry when you realize how much you were throwing away.

Be a grocery hero. Keep more of your money.  Find new ways to give to those in need with your newfound surplus.

You’re welcome.

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Catholic Husbands, Catholic Manliness, Couponing, Economics, Parenting, Stewardship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

