Gone for Too Long

It has been a long time since I was active as a Catholic blogger. For a long time, I was pursuing a career as a traveling Catholic speaker. I spent so much time promoting myself and focusing on widening my ministerial reach that I lost sight of my own call to personal holiness and deepening my own relationship with Jesus Christ.

In the time that has passed, I have been blessed to have opportunities to speak for Catholic parishes, television programs, Catholic radio,  and lay apostolates. I would love to do that full time, but it appears that this is not how God wishes me to provide for my family. It is a difficult pill to swallow to have to acknowledge that the very thing that gives me the greatest fulfillment and for which I had given my undergraduate and graduate studies to develop is the one thing I cannot do.

I will be even more transparent by admitting on several occasions that I have expressed anger and frustration to God for denying me the life I had always felt was my calling and purpose. It is a shameful thing to admit, but it is true. Thanks be to God for His great mercy and for the Sacrament of Reconciliation!

The absence of my “dream job” has forced me to look inward to find and remove the obstacles that are keeping me from being the man He has called me to be. That is the good news. My present task, then, is getting all the crap out of this temple of the Holy Spirit and focusing on the blessings God has given me in my vocation to Marriage.

I am just guessing, but I would be willing to bet that, particular circumstances aside, many Catholic men have found themselves frustrated with their state in life. Is that you or somebody you know? If so, remind them that they are not alone. Pray for them (and me) and encourage them to cultivate the humility and honesty before God to allow Him to work true conversion in their life. God does not zap us. We must work (hard) and cooperate with His grace. The consolations are few, but as our heart is conformed to Jesus Christ through our sufferings and sacrifices we are learning the peace that comes from obedience.

Time to man up. Me, you, and every Catholic man you know. Let’s start to work as men called by God first and foremost to be holy. Let us pray for each other as well, especially for the men who have no one to pray for them, whether they are Catholic or not.

About Tactical Catholic

Catholic husband, dad, and convert to the Catholic Faith. A Catholic layman doing his part to strengthen Catholic men for their vocation.

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Catholic Convert, Catholic Manliness, Personal Witness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Join the Discussion

